Saying No Thanks To The Twelve Tribes Of Hattie

I thought that The Twelve Tribes of Hattie by Ayana Mathis sounded like a good book.  The cover was interesting.  The blurb was interesting.  The first chapter was interesting.   I thought I had found a winner.

Hattie is a young black woman who migrates to the north in search of a better life.  She marries and has twins.  The twins, a boy and a girl, get sick and end up dying.  I was riveted.  I cried.

Then the story jumps to the third child, now a grown man.  He was a traveling musician on his way to New Orleans.  Before the chapter was up he’d had relations with a woman and then a man.  That was it.  I didn’t read more.  If I don’t like reading sex scenes between a man and a woman why would I want to read any other kind?  Some things are better not actually written out.

Oprah may have recommended it, but I don’t.

This lady has a different opinion:

About karenspath

I love to read books and blog about whatever strikes my fancy. I get plenty of blogging inspiration from my family and life itself. Check it out my different blogs!
This entry was posted in The Not So Great and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

