Christmas Ideas for Tweens and Teens

My thirteen year old told me that I really need to do a different post for each of these, but it really messes up my other scheduled posts.  So they are bunched together.

TWEENS (in no particular order)

1. Frogged by Vivian Vande Velde.  This is the freshest take on the princess and frog story with a hilarious twist.  Princess Imogene, age 12, kisses the talking frog, but he doesn’t turn into a prince.   She turns into a frog, and has all sorts of adventures while learning what a princess really needs to know!  I loved this book!

2.  Rump The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin by Liesl Shurtliff.  Another classic fairy tale turned on its head.  Rump’s mother dies before she finishes naming him so he’s stuck with the name Rump.  What’s a boy to do with a name like that?  This book promises to be funny and a great ready for kids.  It’s on my waiting list of books to read!

3.   The Gammage Cup by Carol Kendall.  I discovered this book as a child and fell in love with it.  It’s the story of a few individualistic Minnepins who refuse to conform.  After being cast out they use their individual strengths to outwit and save the rest of their people.  It’s an amazing book and actually has a sequel named The Whisper of Glocken that I barely discovered a few years ago.  I loved loved loved this book when I was 10 or 11 and still do!

4.  A Bear Named Paddington by Michael Bond.  No child should grow up without reading about Paddington Bear.  I loved these books as a child and still love them now.  My 11-year-old son has checked this book out from the library numerous times.  A bear stows away and ends up in England where he is adopted by a family and learns that he loves orange marmalade.  A definite keeper!

5.  Ralph S. Mouse Collection by Beverly Cleary.  Ralph is a mouse who drives a motorcycle, and runs away, and has so many wonderful adventures.  This is a collection of three short books.  My entire family read these growing up.  My kids have read these.  You can even read these out loud as a family.  Wonderfully fun!

6.  The Fablehaven Series by Brandon Mull.  Seth and Kendra are sent to their grandparents to spend the summer.  They are told to not drink the milk their grandparents leave out for all the beautiful butterflies.  Of course they end up drinking it and discover a magical world of full of danger and deceit.  It’s up to them to save their grandparents and Fablehaven.  I love these books.  My kids love these books.  They are fun, clean, and just a little bit scary.  If your tween has a vivid imagination and gets nightmares this might not be a good book.

7.  Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers by Ralph Moody.  My mom read this book to us one winter.  I loved it.  I checked it out as a kids and I have read it as an adult.  It is a wonderful story.  When Ralph is eight his family moves from New Hampshire to a ranch in Colorado.  They experience a lot of adventures on that ranch, including an irrigation war.  It’s an authentic account of life on a ranch around the beginning of the 20th century.  Wonderful book!  It is on my list to own, as well as the other books Ralph Moody wrote.

8.  The Misadventures of Maude March by Audrey Couloumbis.  I found this book at a book fair at a discounted rate.  I snatched it up!  I read it, my oldest daughter read it and the general consensus is that it is a great read.  She loved it so much she looked to see if there are more books and there is!  Sallie and her big sister Maude have the worst luck in a western town.  Their family dies and leaves them alone with the savages of the town who only want their belongings and the work they can do, so the girls hatch a plan.  They get away, but become wanted in the process.  It’s a fun read, and one that kids will read more than once.

9.  The Black Cauldron by Alexander Lloyd.  Yes, this is the book that the Disney movie is based on.  It is better than the movie, like usual.  Taran, an assistant pig keeper, goes on a quest to stop the terrible army of Arawn.  He has his colorful companions from previous encounters along to help.  (This book is part of a series but can stand alone.)  It’s a story of growing up when facing choices.  I loved this book and this series as I was growing up.  Alexander Lloyd is a gifted writer.

10.   The Witches by Roald Dahl.  Of all of his books, this might be my favorite.  A little boy goes to live with his grandmother when his parents die.  She is the first to tell him about REAL witches and even teaches him how to recognize the signs of a Real Witch.  So imagine his horror when he finds himself at a convention for witches.  This is a spine tingling tale for kids who like suspense.  The ending is rather surprising.

TEENS

Um… well, I’m not real up on teen literature.  When I look through it at a bookstore it seems to either be fantasy or romance with covers almost as naughty as the ones they make for adults.  If you really love your teen (and your teen really loves to read) check out the lists for grown ups.  Those are all good decent books.

About karenspath

I love to read books and blog about whatever strikes my fancy. I get plenty of blogging inspiration from my family and life itself. Check it out my different blogs!
This entry was posted in Book Lovers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Ideas for Tweens and Teens

  1. sheraz2011 says:

    Did you know that there are eight books in the Ralph Moody’s Little Britches books? They are also available as audio books from audible.com. We are going to listen to them in the next year. I’ve been collecting them. 😉

Leave a Reply

