Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin

I know I put this on my Christmas list for tweens and kids without reading it, but I was positive it was worth the read.  My thirteen year-old daughter was horrified that I would recommend a book without reading it.  However, I was absolutely correct.  Rump The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin by Liesl Shurtliff is a fabulous book, even if you aren’t a kid.

Everyone knows that Rumpelstiltskin can spin straw into gold and that he ends up bargaining for the Queen’s first-born baby.  What we have all wondered is why on earth he wants a baby!  Now Liesl Shurtliff has provided the answers in a fun to read, fast paced adventure that will have kids and adults alike laughing out loud.  And it puts us all squarely behind Rumpelstiltskin as we cheer him on to victory.

It’s almost an accident that Rump learns to spin straw into gold.  After all no one but his grandmother loves him and she certainly does not teach him.  She can’t even tell him his whole name.  His mother dies before she got anything else out so he’s been known as Rump his whole life and been the butt of all the jokes.

Everyone knows that your destiny is tied to your name.  If you don’t even know your name how can you find your destiny is the question Rump has.  Before he realizes what is happening Rump finds himself caught up in a tangle of magic, spun by himself.  Only he can untangle it and find his true destiny.

On his journey to find his name and his destiny Rump gets sucked into political intrigues, meets a horde of trolls, and survives his meeting with witches.  We learn why he bargains for a baby and how he finds his name.

It’s a wonderful story.  It could even be a teaching moment for children.  I recommend this book to anyone, young or old.

About karenspath

I love to read books and blog about whatever strikes my fancy. I get plenty of blogging inspiration from my family and life itself. Check it out my different blogs!
This entry was posted in Not Just For Kids and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

