Not Loving The Last First Day

The Last First Day by Carrie Brown is another novel that I checked out recently because of its interesting blurb.  It’s about a woman who gives her all for love as she helps her husband run a boarding school for troubled kids.  Sounds great, right?

Not so much.  The story itself is okay.  It’s really a poignant tale of love and loss, but the writing style drove me crazy.  And the pathos of the main character Ruth just made me cringe.  I don’t know that I can specifically say all the things about it that I didn’t like, but there was something about this book that rubbed me the wrong way.

If you don’t learn from my mistake then be aware that it has profanity and sexual situations (although I will confess that I can’t remember if it got explicit).

About karenspath

I love to read books and blog about whatever strikes my fancy. I get plenty of blogging inspiration from my family and life itself. Check it out my different blogs!
This entry was posted in The Not So Great and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

