Antiques Flee Market

It’s  almost Christmas time, and all the antique dealers are out in force at the local flea market when Antiques Flee Market, by Barbara Allan, begins.  It belongs to Barbara Allan’s Trash N’ Treasure Mystery series about Brandy Borne and her blind shi tzu.  I’ll confess that it was the picture of the shi tzu that made me check it out.  I used to have one.

It’s a kind of mad cap romp of a murder mystery.  Vivian, Brandy’s manic mother, provides a lot of comic relief in her efforts to uncover the identity of the murderer.  It’s quite personal for her because the man who gets murdered was an old romantic attachment.  Brandy’s efforts to keep up with her mother keep the comedy rolling.

Brandy also faces quite a bit of personal emotional upheaval that I can’t go into detail about without ruining the whole book.  All I can say is wow, what a twist!

This is the second trash n’ treasure book that I have read.  I enjoyed it much more than the first one, although I will admit that I must either not remember the last one well or I skipped a number of books because I think I missed about ten years.  However, this book can stand alone, even if you haven’t read any of the previous books.

There were not any explicit scenes, but I do think there were several words throughout the book.  It was fun, but not on my list of must read mysteries.  The Kindle version costs $4.30 and it probably is available at your local library.

About karenspath

I love to read books and blog about whatever strikes my fancy. I get plenty of blogging inspiration from my family and life itself. Check it out my different blogs!
This entry was posted in Clue Follower and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Antiques Flee Market

  1. PoshPedlar says:

    Trash n treasure book! Love that. Didn’t know that genre existed. Could definitely give that one a whirl though. Write about what you know?! Loads of trash n treasure round here to go at!

    • karenspath says:

      It’s not really a genre. It’s a series by Barbara Allen that features Brandy, Vivian, and the blind shi tzu. Your local library should have them in their mystery section. They more or less go in chronological order. 🙂 There’s plenty of trash and treasure in my house too. Garage sale anyone!?!

Leave a Reply

