The Very Odd Suspense and Sensibility

Suspense and Sensibility has to be the weirdest Jane Austen fan fiction that I have ever read.  Written by Carrie Bebris and formally titled Suspense and Sensibility or, First Impressions Revisited, A Mr. And Mrs. Darcy Mystery, this book takes some of Jane Austen’s most beloved characters and turns them into detectives of sorts.  It’s what they are investigating that is just plain weird.

Apparently Elizabeth and Darcy decide to give Kitty a London season in hopes of finding her a husband.  The plan is a smashing success when she snares Henry Dashwood.  Yes, Dashwood!  He is none other than the son of the infamous John and Fanny Dashwood in Sense and Sensibility.  And because he has reached his majority there isn’t much his mother can do about it.  This is the very best thing about this book.  Not only does Fanny get saddled with Lucy as a sister-in-law, she gets a daughter-in-law who is as poor as a church mouse.  Talk about getting your comeuppance.  I still smile when I think of how humbling this must be for that character.

My real beef with this book is that Carrie Bebris  introduces some paranormal elements that are strictly weird.  It’s hard for me to really imagine Elizabeth and Darcy arguing over whether or not supernatural things really exist etc.  It is hard to imagine the world of Jane Austen jumbled up in this evil paranormal mumbo jumbo that happens.  It’s just weird.

Of course, to be fair, I have to admit that I am not much for paranormal books in the first place.  They make me uncomfortable and I don’t usually read that kind of stuff.  Anyway, it’s just a strange mix.

There weren’t any explicit scenes, but there was quite a bit of innuendo and evil.  I’m not sure if I will read her other books or not.  I think she has written several Mr. and Mrs. Darcy mysteries using the other titles written by Jane Austen.

About karenspath

I love to read books and blog about whatever strikes my fancy. I get plenty of blogging inspiration from my family and life itself. Check it out my different blogs!
This entry was posted in Clue Follower and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

