An Old Favorite: The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax

Back in the dark ages when I was a teenager (my kids apparently think I was born before WWII) I told my mom that I was anxious to find a new author to read.  I was bored with everything I had been reading.  That happens periodically.  Unlike my own teenage daughter I actually took my mother’s advice and read The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax by Dorothy Gilman.

Emily Pollifax is just plain bored with life.  Her husband has died.  Her children are grown and live far away.  She has the garden club, her volunteer rounds at the hospital, and a neighbor who reminds her of a former teacher.  Boring and even more boring… to the point that she almost steps off the roof of her apartment building.  When she goes to the doctor he asks a question that changes her life.

Is there anything she has ever wanted to do?

Mrs. Pollifax mulls over this question, and she decides to go for it. So off she goes to Langley, Virginia to the CIA to apply for work as a spy.  Who does that?  Certainly not your average senior citizen.

Intrigued yet?

Through a series of coincidences Mrs. Pollifax actually gets a job as a courier, and her adventure starts.  She is hilarious, definitely entertaining, and very resourceful in her trip around the world.

I fell in love with her years ago and still love to read her many adventures.  In fact, because of Mrs. Pollifax, Dorothy Gilman is one of the authors I have chosen to put into my own library.  If you love mysteries but have never read a Mrs. Pollifax you should add her to your list of books to read.

 

About karenspath

I love to read books and blog about whatever strikes my fancy. I get plenty of blogging inspiration from my family and life itself. Check it out my different blogs!
This entry was posted in Clue Follower and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

