Miss Julia’s Marvelous Makeover

What a great way to jump back into reading!  Oh, you don’t believe that I didn’t read all summer?  Okay, you got me.  I did read an occasional book, but I definitely didn’t have time to write any reviews, and I’m not sure the books even add up to all the fingers on one hand…

But, the kids are back in school.  The demands for my attention have decreased dramatically between the hours of 8:30 and 2:30.  Except everyone still thinks I should do laundry, clean the bathroom, and cook dinner.  Sigh!  I’d rather read.

Photo

photo by Claire Lynn Designs

Miss Julia’s Marvelous Makeover is the latest novel by Ann B. Ross.  It was published this year.  To be honest I wasn’t sure if there would ever be another Miss Julia book, but I am very grateful that I was wrong.  It was a very sad thing to know that I was reading the last book a while back.  I had gotten very attached to Miss Julia, and absolutely hated the idea of no more books.  However, I am fairly sure that there is at least one more book coming out because of how this one ended.

This installment of Miss Julia’s life showcases an unexpected visit from a long-lost relative, internet dating services, and a plunge into local politics.  Throw in an undertaker who is eager to relieve Miss Julia of some undesirable property and you get an entertaining tale that will get you to laugh out loud and make your children want to know what was so funny. (Or your significant other, pets, or the strangers next to you on the plane…)

This mystery is perfect for light reading to relax and unwind.  It’s comfortably cozy, but with a sense of humor that keeps you eager to the end.  I love that Ann B. Ross can take the characters that I know so well and keep putting them in situations that crack me up.  Imagine Miss Julia giving a stump speech!  It’s a sure-fire laugh!

The story ends before you know the results of the election, which makes me reasonably sure that there is going to be a new Miss Julia soon.  She can’t leave us hanging forever!

On that note, I noticed yesterday that Ann B. R published a new novel just last month (August 2014) titled Etta Mae’s Worst Bad Luck Day.   Click on the title to see a preview.  It sounds delightful.  If my library doesn’t get a copy soon I might just have to break down and get the kindle version.  Perhaps it details the election results.

About karenspath

I love to read books and blog about whatever strikes my fancy. I get plenty of blogging inspiration from my family and life itself. Check it out my different blogs!
This entry was posted in Clue Follower and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Miss Julia’s Marvelous Makeover

  1. Pingback: Etta Mae’s Worst Bad-Luck Day | The Beauty of Books

Leave a Reply

