A Sensible Arrangement

I got caught by the cover.  Again!

A Sensible Arrangement, by Tracie Peterson, is a historical fiction romance mystery novel.  Apparently it is her 100th novel.  I’ve never heard of her before, but wow.  I have 99 more books to read and enjoy if they are as fun as this one was. A Sensible Arrangement is the first in a series called Lone Star Brides.

Marty, the heroine, has turned herself into a mail order bride to escape the pain of the past in Texas.  She marries a stranger named Jake Wythe in Denver in 1893.  And the shenanigans begin.  It’s a romance in the sense that it really is a story about two people falling in love.  It’s a historical fiction in the fact that it details a lot of the financial crisis of 1893 when President Cleveland asked Congress to repeal the Sherman Silver Purchase Act.  (Bet you don’t know anything about that!  I didn’t.)

It’s a mystery because some people are after Marty’s new maid, but she doesn’t know why.  They murdered her father and are threatening to kill her if she doesn’t give them what they want.  It’s kinda hard to do that when you don’t even know what they want!

I had fun reading this book.  Parts of the plot were predictable.  It’s romantic, after all.  However, the author left me hanging with so many plot lines unresolved.  If this wasn’t a series I probably would have found an email address so I could complain.  Happily, however, it is a series.  Book two, A Moment in Time, has already been published, and the third installment is coming out on September 30th.  So series lovers, you can start this without having to wait forever to finish.

This is an inspiration fiction book.  There isn’t any swearing or steamy scenes.  I really appreciate that.  I will be reading more of Tracie Peterson’s books.

About karenspath

I love to read books and blog about whatever strikes my fancy. I get plenty of blogging inspiration from my family and life itself. Check it out my different blogs!
This entry was posted in Christian Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Sensible Arrangement

  1. D.L. Kamstra says:

    I’ve had this series on my list of books to read for awhile now and I love the covers of them as well. I don’t think I have been truly disappointed by any of Tracie Peterson’s novels. For as many books as she has written or co-written the plots, settings and characters are vastly different. One author she has co-written a few series with that also has a similar style is Judith Miller.

    • karenspath says:

      I’ve enjoyed the five that I have read so far. They are pretty fun. I might have to check out Judith Miller. I’ve never read any of her stuff.

      • D.L. Kamstra says:

        My first introduction to both authors was a series they coauthored called The Broadmoor Legacy. It is a series of three books, and it was actually my first foray into Christian fiction, and they made me fall in love with it.

      • karenspath says:

        Hm, I think I might just go to the library tomorrow… 🙂

  2. Pingback: A Moment in Time | The Beauty of Books

  3. Pingback: Land of the Lone Star Series | The Beauty of Books

  4. Pingback: A Daughter’s Inheritance | The Beauty of Books

Leave a Reply

