Hercule Poirot’s Early Cases

I know I have been on an Agatha Christie kick lately.  There is something about fall that makes me want to curl up and read a really good mystery.  When it comes to good mysteries, Agatha Christie is one of the best authors of all time.  Her books are an intellectual treat in a field that increasingly relies on suspense and action to carry the story along.

There’s just one bad thing about wanting to curl up and read during the fall: the unlikelihood of uninterrupted reading time.   Never fear Christie mystery fans!  I have the perfect Agatha Christie for you.  Hercule Poirot’s Early Cases is a compilation of 18 short stories featuring, ahem, Hercule Poirot.   These short stories are perfect reading for busy times.  I can fit in a short story here or there throughout my busy days and be happy.  I get a whole story done and can cheerfully get back to work without having to drag myself away.  I get more done!

image from wikipedia

Because these are in the short story format there isn’t as much development of story.  I was able to guess the bad guy fairly accurately throughout the book.  However, my method of guessing doesn’t hold a candle to the thought process of Hercule Poirot’s little grey cells.  That is one of the things that I have really enjoyed about Agatha Christie.  She is able to reason her solutions out and presents a wonderful case and solution without relying on the all-knowing, verging on voodoo magic powers, detective like Sherlock Holmes.  She also doesn’t have to rely on the fumbling detective who basically falls into the truth.

Instead she uses clues like a chocolate box with the blue lid instead of the pink lid.  I think my favorite clue was found in the story The King of Clubs.  Solving the entire mystery revolved around one significant item, the king of clubs.  I don’t play bridge, but I can appreciate the clue none the less, because I do play games.

If you haven’t ever read this book you should check out a copy from your library.  Amazon has a million for sell, but there isn’t a kindle edition.  That disappointed me.  I am getting quite fond of my kindle that allows me to own and read books without having to buy more shelves!

About karenspath

I love to read books and blog about whatever strikes my fancy. I get plenty of blogging inspiration from my family and life itself. Check it out my different blogs!
This entry was posted in Clue Follower and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

