It’s True: Everybody’s Got Something

I read this book at a perfect time in my life.  Robin Robert’s memoir Everybody’s Got Something really struck a chord in me.  Because I have been dealing with some health issues for the last six or seven months that climaxed in major surgery two weeks ago, Robin’s account of her latest health scare really resonated with me in a very personal way.  I actually read it before I went to the hospital, but I knew that the surgery was coming.

I have watched Robin Roberts for years in little snatches here or there, mostly because my closest local station happens to be an ABC station.  I knew she’d been dealing with health issues on and off, but I didn’t really know what the issue was.  I did catch several episodes of Good Morning America that dealt with her hospitalization and recovery.  So when I saw the book I wanted to read it.  The title is such a true statement.  I think that is what really drew me to the book.  I was dealing with my own something at the time.  (Click here to learn more!)

While Robin takes you through her experiences and the effect they had on her life, there is one constant refrain.  It’s something her momma used to tell her.  “Everybody’s got something.”  It’s a saying that has made an impression on Robin, and now the people who have read the book.  It’s a reminder that no matter what you are going through, you really aren’t alone.  Everybody else is going through their own trials.

Remembering that everyone else is dealing with their own problems is a great way to see beyond your own grief and pain.  It helps to build compassion and empathy for others.  So whether your something is on national television or hidden behind the doors of your home, you aren’t alone and God is there to extend His grace to you.

I loved that Robin acknowledged the role that faith and family played in her recovery.  I appreciated her honesty in addressing the many issues that health scares create in our lives.

I don’t know how much of this book was written by Robin and how much was written by Veronica Chambers, but it is a good book.  It is definitely worth taking time to read it.  I’m glad that I did.

About karenspath

I love to read books and blog about whatever strikes my fancy. I get plenty of blogging inspiration from my family and life itself. Check it out my different blogs!
This entry was posted in Memoirs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

